Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Most incumbents returning to office in MN Chippewa tribal elections

Minnesota Chippewa Tribe is headquartered in Cass Lake.
Minnesota Chippewa Tribe
Minnesota Chippewa Tribe is headquartered in Cass Lake.

A recap of Minnesota Chippewa Tribe unofficial general election results, gathered from bands in Northern Minnesota.

CASS LAKE — Members of Minnesota Chippewa Tribe bands cast ballots Tuesday for general elections across Northern Minnesota.

Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe Chairman Faron Jackson was victorious in his reelection bid, garnering more than 60% of the vote. Leon Staples Jr. also won more than 60% of the vote in the race for District III, which had no incumbent.

White Earth Nation Chairman Michael Fairbanks secured another four-year term after receiving more than 55% of the vote after a challenge from Eugene “Umsy” Tibbets. In this District III race, Laura Lee Erickson won over half the vote against incumbent Cheryl “Annie” Jackson.

Carolyn Beaulieu won over half of the vote for the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe District I representative race against Valerie Harrington-Wind in a non-incumbent race, according to unofficial results.

The Bois Forte Band of Chippewa Chairperson Catherine Chavers received six more votes than opponent Hannah Lehti-Chosa, with 502 total ballots cast. The race was equally tight in the District I representative race, where Perry Drift received five more votes than Edward Villebrun.

The Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa committeeperson race saw 197 total ballots cast, with over half going to incumbent Marie Spry.

According to unofficial results, Bruce M. Savage defeated incumbent Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa chairman Kevin DuPuis. In District I, incumbent committeeperson Wally Dupuis secured another term over challenger Michelle DeBolt, and Earl Otis garnered 60% of the vote against incumbent District 3 committee person Roger Smith Sr.

The Red Lake Nation is not part of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe due to its unique status as a sovereign tribal entity. It will have its runoff election for Little Rock and Redby district representatives on July 10.